The Importance of a Good Cleansing Routine | The Beauty Spot

For a long time I was very lazy in the cleansing department. I would skip toner more than I’d use it, and often would only wash/cleanse once at night. I trained as a beauty therapist and have worked in high end beauty for 7 years and I would still confess to lacking in the cleansing area of my routine. *the shame!*

In June 2014 I started treatment for acne and became much more aware of the fact that if I was putting treatment gel on my face for spots and scarring, it needed to be on completely clean skin, otherwise how was it going to work if bits of foundation were still there?!

And so I began double cleansing. This makes so much sense I couldn’t believe I had never really done it before!

Think about your evening cleansing routine in two sections, especially if you wear makeup.  You need to remove the makeup first, before cleansing and balancing the skin. So just using wipes – for example – to take the makeup off is not going to cut it, because bits of foundation can quite easily be left behind. I think wipes are great for quick fix after a night out when you are a little worse for wear, but if you think about it, all you’re doing is eventually moving the grime around your face when the wipe is full and dirty.

The other thing with wipes is that if you’re wearing a medium/full coverage foundation, you will most probably have wipe the skin a lot in order to remove it and that can feel rough and irritate. So having a makeup removing product and cleansing product is the way to go!

Some cleansers are effective enough at breaking down makeup (probably depends on your makeup too though!) but for me I’ve been finding that using two separate products have really done the trick.  I’ll follow up with specific products that are currently in my bathroom, but especially during my acne treatment, I was loving the soothing element of oils and balms as my second cleanse. Because my treatment gel was harsh and uncomfortable on my skin, I was finding that a couple of minutes spent slowly massaging my skin with a gentle product was good for settling my mind before bed and was soothing my skin before applying the gel.

The best thing about a good cleansing routine, is that when your skin is squeaky clean, your following products will all work much more effectively! And if you invest good money in your serum/oil/moisturiser you want to know it can work how it’s supposed to; ceansing is the where that starts!

With any routine, its about finding what works for you and since December when I finished my treatment, I’ve continued with this, and my skin seems to be loving it!

What cleansing or makeup removing products do you swear by?

6 thoughts on “The Importance of a Good Cleansing Routine | The Beauty Spot

Thanks for stopping by! Say hi and let me know what you think!

