My Acne Journey: How I cover my scarring and redness

After my first post about the troubles I’ve had with acne, and the hyper pigmentation it has caused, it was suggested that I do a post about how I cover my skin, makeup-wise. I had planned to do it anyway, as being able to cover my skin makes me so much more comfortable about my skin, but really, I like applying makeup and taking time to do it. With the fame that the ‘no makeup selfie’ has amassed and an article recently on Mail Online, I felt it was a good time to do this post.

I always feel slightly uncomfortable taking pictures of myself, and I am only using an iPhone 5 camera, so apologies if the quality isn’t great, but I hope that these images will show you how much of a difference a good foundation and application can make.

*Products used are listed below*

20140413-235848.jpg Above: a reminder of what I’m working with. Below: my no makeup selfie. Very strategically taken!

20140413-235954.jpg

20140414-000016.jpg Above: half face foundation. Below: un blended concealer.

20140414-000159.jpg

20140414-000222.jpg Above: blended concealer. Below: full face base complete.

20140414-000442.jpg

20140414-000458.jpg Above: full makeup.

Products used:
Clarins Everlasting Foundation in 110 Honey
NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in Deauvilleย (I’m between shades to had to mix!)
Smashbox Halo to Go Loose Powder in Light
Maybelline Expert Wear Blush in Flash Plum
MAC Mineral Skin Finish in Lightscapade
MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study
Lancome Le Crayon Khol in Noir
Lancome Cils Booster Mascara
Maybelline Colossal Volum Express Smokey eyes Mascaraย (longest name everrrrr!!)
Bobbi Brown 3 Pan Palette
Bobbi Brown Lip Liner in Rose
NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Roman Holidayย 

Thanks for reading! I read every comment and love to hear what you guys think, so please leave me a little message below! :o)

xx

 

10 thoughts on “My Acne Journey: How I cover my scarring and redness

  1. I also have bad acnescars and hyperpigmentation.,annoying that even though my skin has been clear for years it seems the scars remain the same. I love this foundation! It stays matt on my “greasy”skin but still feels really soft & covers well!:)

    Like

    1. Hi Laura, thanks for your comment! I still love this foundation, but I’m now a bit more of a Double Wear convert on a daily basis!
      I’ve recently incorporated a glycol in toner into my skincare routine that’s really helping to reduce my redness and the scarring that’s left after my acne treatment. There’s plenty of them out there, but I’m using Pixi Glow Tonic at the moment, love it!

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! As you can appreciate it means so much! I’m trying really hard to improve my skin, but it gets to a stage where it’s gets better then gets worse again! ๐Ÿ˜ฉ I’ll definitely be doing more updates in the future! x

      Like

Thanks for stopping by! Say hi and let me know what you think!

