The Winter Project | Festive Makeup Picks

20131216-103742.jpg

So Christmas is only a week away! I’m seeing a lot of people panic buying and getting very stressed about the whole situation! Me? I like to stand back and watch it all, preferably with a glass of something alcoholic(!) and not worry too much if I haven’t managed to get everything. As long as you enjoy what time off you have with your loved ones, what’s the big stress?!

20131216-103756.jpg
My ‘go to’ Christmas look is gorgeous defined eyes and a bold red lip. I’m not very good with a red lip on a normal day because I don’t find time to top up and make sure my pout is perfect, but on Christmas Day it’s nice to do your makeup a bit different and make an effort!
Some of the items in the picture are things that I already use, others are firmly on my wishlist!

Whenever I’m doing ‘evening’ makeup its all about a long lasting look.  I reach for MAC Paint Pot in Bare Study whenever I’m needing things to stay put as its gives a beautiful champagne nude base.  I then reach for my Illamasqua Pure Pigments to create a much more special look.  Here you can see Furore (nude), Android (black/metallic grey) and Ore (copper brown).  These instantly make me feel like I’m going to a party! Furore is the perfect shimmering nude and can be used as a highlighter on the cheekbones and décolleté as well as a wash over the eyes.  I like to use Ore when I’m doing a slightly more smokey eye as it gives the most beautiful sparkle.  Android is amazing for those super black smokey eyes, but for this look in particular I would mix it with the Illamasqua Sealing Gel to make a paste and apply it over the top of the Black Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner for a real intense cat flick liner look.  

To finish the eyes, its all about the lashes.  I often reach for Lancome Cils Booster white mascara base to build my lashes before regular mascara.  I then like to use either Kimberly Walsh or Nicola Roberts Eyelure lashes to really accentuate the look already achieved on the eyes.

For lips, the product I will be reaching for on Christmas day is the NARS Satin Lip Pencil. This one is Golshan, but I have a slightly different one coming in my stocking, I can’t remember the name though! I think a red lip always feels festive at this time of year!

To really complete the look I’ve gone for a nail polish. This Barry M one is one I picked up from The Clothes Show a couple of weeks ago and I think it just gives a bit of a twist on the classic winter deep red polish with the small golden sparkles in there.

What are your festive make up must haves? Do you like any of the items mentioned? What’s on your wishlist? Leave me your links to any posts below, I always love to find new blogs to check out!

See you soon
Nina x

One thought on “The Winter Project | Festive Makeup Picks

Thanks for stopping by! Say hi and let me know what you think!

