Haul: The Clothes Show Live 2013

I had wanted to get this post up a little sooner, but after my visit to The Clothes show on Friday I had a jam packed weekend of work and Christmas parties, so absolutely no time to get any posts prepped!  But anyway, I thought I should show you the few bits that I picked up from The Clothes Show.

I hadn’t planned to go originally, but I entered a competition via Twitter a few weeks ago and was greeted with an inbox message saying I had won two tickets! I never win anything so I was really chuffed!  I haven’t been to the Clothes Show since I was 15 (10 years ago!!!) so I was interested to see how it had changed.  I was so impressed with the actual catwalk show, it was fun, exciting, amazing outfits and topped off with a few topless male models – who could say no!  I was not so impressed with the actual clothes on offer to buy.  Maybe they just didn’t fit my style, but I didn’t feel the majority of what was on offer was particularly good quality.  I’m not a vintage clothing lover and would never claim to be able to style up pieces like that, so maybe thats why I wasn’t so exited about that part of the show.

I was however quite impressed with the ‘beauty hall’, and that is where I made most of my purchases.  I spotted some amazing offers on the Clarins stand, the Ciate stand was also great (absolute bargains on their Advent Calendar!) and Rimmel had a pretty good stand out area too.

I picked up 4 Barry M nail paints, all of which I’m pretty sure I’ll fall in love with.  They are all glitter based, 3 of them have quite small particles, the multicoloured one has larger pieces of glitter, this will probably need two coats to get a good coverage of glitter on the nail.  I will do a review of these shades as and when I have tried them, we weren’t even allowed to swatch before choosing them!
IMG_3868

IMG_3872

As I have been growing my hair for the last 9 or so months, I have had to get used to styling it differently.  And knowing that I want to continue growing it I thought I’d join the craze of Sleep In Rollers.  I have no idea if these will work on my – still quite short – hair at the moment, but I thought for £10 it was worth a punt! (I included a Sleep In Rollers gift set in my Gift Guide for Her – they were £27.99!)
IMG_3874

My hair is blonde which is why I went for the white and gold ones.  They came with clips included and a demonstration DVD which I thought was amazing value for money!
In this picture you can also see what may look like a dead animal – no it is a faux fur head band!  I have been on the lookout for one of these for ages and just not come across a colour combination that I like, then I saw this as soon as I walked in the Clothes Show and bam, first item purchased!

The last thing I purchased was another whim.  Again following the ‘in the process of growing hair’ vain, I decided to buy some clip in hair extensions.  Not knowing much about them I had to trust my friends better knowledge!  We had a look at half wigs and clip in extensions and after a bit of deliberation I went for the clip in ones.  The half wig I tried was double the price was was synthetic so I wouldn’t be able to curl or treat the hair.  The ones that I have can be treated, so I’m going to curl them, as I think that will look better for not seeing the join between my hair and the extensions.
IMG_3843
They are currently 20″ in length, which is waaaay too long for what I wanted so I will most likely get them cut by my hairdresser to make them look better when in my hair.  As you can see they are straight at the moment but I will curl them as and when I finally get some time to have a play with them!

So thats it for this haul.  There wasn’t much in all honesty, but I just wanted to show you guys what I did manage to pick up whilst I was there.

I’d love to hear what you thought about The Clothes Show this year, have you been before, what bargains did you pick up? Link your posts below, I’d love to have a read.

Nina xx

Thanks for stopping by! Say hi and let me know what you think!

