The Get To know Me Tag! | The Beauty Spot

I haven’t been directly tagged to do this, but I wanted to do a tag to tell everyone a little bit more about myself! I originally saw this tag via google on beautybroadcast.net here. So here is my offering, I hope you enjoy it! Please leave me comment if you have done this tag or would recommend some others you like to read or that you have enjoyed doing! Ta x

1. Is your hair naturally curly or straight?
My hair is that annoying in between! I often go to sleep with my hair wet and it comes out with a soft messy, beachy look. I like it because it’s so low maintenance and I’m not damaging my hair by blow drying it after every wash. If I do style it, I will blow dry with a hot brush to give volume and normally finish off smoothing over my GHD’s. 

2. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?
I have always had my hair professionally coloured. Being blonde I don’t trust myself to do it at home as I’ve seen some disasters over the years, so I just stick to what I know. I’ve had the same colourist and hairdresser for a number of years now so I’m comfortable going there. It is expensive to have it all done together but I manage to go about 3-4 times a year as instead of every 6 weeks. Last time I went my regrowth was so bad it could’ve become ‘ombré’d’ without me even trying! Oops! 

3. Do you wear the same style everyday, or do you change it?
My hair style depends on when it can be washed and how much time I’ll have in the morning. I’m currently growing out a very short Frankie Sandford-style cut. I’ve got past the worst part (it’s now a collar length bob), but I want to grow it much longer so that I can experiment with top knots, fish tail plaits and other up-do’s! 

4. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?
I’m a qualified Beauty Therapist so I can do them myself, however I have two family members who are nail techs so I often call on their services! I love it when I’ve had my nails done I just feel cleaned up and much more ladylike! See my Gel Manicure post here.

5. How often do you change your nail polish?
Because I almost always have a gel manicure these days, I don’t change nail polish very often. Mainly because I like the colour I have on, but also because I’m not allowed anything other than ‘neutral’ at work.

6. Do you polish your toes in the winter or just the summer?
All year round! I cant go without on my toes, they just don’t look like my feet without polish on! I love to have nail art for the summer, but during winter I go for either something very sparkly or a classic red or Rouge Noir by Chanel. I find my toe polish lasts me around 8 weeks so I don’t see the point in having a gel on them, I can have so many more colour variations with polish.

7. How long does it take for you to put on makeup?
When I am at work I am usually running out of the door to catch the train so I generally do my base and blush then take the rest to do on the train. I’ve gotten quite good at it! I have about 30mins to kill on the train so I may as well do something productive! On a day off though it takes me about 10-15mins, for nights out I like to take my time so roughly half an hour, most of that time is taken up choosing what to put on my eyes though!

8. What do you do first? Face or eyes?
Always face! I like to start with a blank canvas.

9. Do you collect makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?
Definitely collect! I’m the same with clothes, I like to have lots of choice to fit any occasion. Watching YouTube and reading blogs doesn’t help either!

10. How often do you wear false eyelashes?
Generally only for evenings out and ‘big’ nights out when I’m wearing more eye makeup. I love how the right lashes can completely finish a look, but I don’t like to rely on wearing me all the time as I think people would think something terrible had happened if I stopped wearing them!

11. Do you do a full face of makeup everyday?
Yes, mainly because I’m in a public facing job, wouldn’t want to scare everyone!

12. Do you wear makeup when you’re home alone or with family?
I love wearing makeup, so most of the time I am wearing it. But for just a chilled day where I’m unlikely to go anywhere then I will have a clean skin day! I’m sure my skin does thank me for that now and again!

13. Will you leave the house without makeup?
I will but on very few and rare occasions, usually if I am going to the salon for a spray tan though!

14. How many high-end products do you have?
I have quite a few high end products, more than drugstore to be honest. I love Clarins, Mac and Illamqasua, among others at the moment.

15. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you’re getting dressed?
I wear a uniform for work so that does make life much easier, but on days off it depends what I’m doing and where I’m going. Over the winter I am most comfortable in my jeans and Uggs though. I won’t win any fashion prizes there, but they are just sooooooo comfy!!

16. How often do you change your handbag?
Usually when I’ve got bored of one and purchased a new one. I got one of my first designer bags this year, the Michael Kors large Selma. I absolutely love it. It is like a Tardis however, and seems to hold an all manner or ‘things’ and gets heavier every day! I bought it because it’s quite a plain but classic bag so I won’t get bored of it and will go with everything so I don’t think I’ll change it any time soon!

17. What time do you wake up and go to sleep?
I go to sleep waaaaay too late because I always get too engrossed reading blogs or watching YouTube videos, usually this will be around midnight. Then depending on my shift at work my alarm goes off around 6am. I know(!), it’s not enough sleep, but I do make up for it on my days off!

18. How often or when do you workout?
Not often enough! I loved sport at school but have very much grown out of it. I have a fairly active job, I’m on my feet all day and walk up and down a number of stairs a lot during the day, so I feel that does help for a good base level fitness. I ran a Half Marathon in 2008 and would love to get to that fitness level to do it again. I just need some inspiration!

19. Left handed or right handed?
Right.

20. How tall are you?
5′ 5″

21. Do you speak any foreign languages?
No! I don’t feel I have the right mind for that! I’m always in awe of people who can. Many of my colleagues are fluent in other languages and it makes me wish I had tried harder at languages at school!

22. How many pets do you have?
One cat called Harry, we nickname him Prince Harry and he is beautiful! (Biased?!)

23. How often are you on Blogger?
I only started my blog about 10 days ago, so I am still very new to it all. I use Bloglovin to read blogs and I check that almost every day.

24. Do you read comments posted on blogs?
I sometimes do as you can pick up some great tips or links to some great blogs too!

25. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?
Yes, I started with a mental list, but now I add notes to my phone as I always have it with me when I’m shopping!

26. How did you come up with your blog name?
I didn’t really want to use my own name, so I just tried to come up with something I liked! And I wanted the potential to create post names around the name of the blog.

27. What kind of camera do you use for your photographs?
At the moment just my iPhone or iPad. I do have an Olympus digital camera though which I may start to use in the future.

28. How often do you clean your house?
Not often enough. I’ve always been of the opinion there are better things to do! I would describe myself as little bit cluttered/messy but not dirty! Haha!

29. What’s your favorite colour?
Purple!

30. Do you swear?
Probably more often than I should, but I do try to curb it!

31. What are you doing with the rest of your day?
Well it’s 9pm so there’s not much left of today! I’m currently typing and watching The Great British Bake Off so I will finish my post and publish, then it’s bedtime!

So there you have it! Some useless information about me! Hope you enjoyed!
I tag any blogger who hasn’t done this already, and please leave me a link below to yours so I can stalk you too!!

One thought on “The Get To know Me Tag! | The Beauty Spot

Thanks for stopping by! Say hi and let me know what you think!

